Queen Mary 2 – the ruler of the oceans

Nostalgia for the golden days of cruises seems to continue as strong as ever: the Queen Mary 2 keeps the grand old tradition of transatlantic liners alive. We boarded the great lady for a cruise from Hamburg to New York. 

Several times a year, Hamburg is suddenly gripped by a fervent passion for the monarchy, and for a few days the British queen rules the city. No, not Elizabeth, but Mary the Second, the queen of the ocean. Hundreds of thousands of spectators line the banks of the River Elbe to watch her majestic arrival and departure. The Queen Mary 2 has become the city’s new landmark, a kind of floating St. Michaelis Church. When she leaves Hamburg late in the evening, against a backdrop of brightly-coloured fireworks that light up the evening sky, one feels that the entire city yearns to swim after her. Or, even better, sail off on her. For the Queen Mary 2, Hamburg is the port of hearts. Her home port is Southampton in England. 

 

  • Copyright: Cunard

And this is exactly where I come on board, as do up to 2,600 other passengers who are making this dream come true for themselves: ten days on the Queen Mary 2, across the Atlantic to New York. This is a historic route, the route that all the big ocean liners took to cross the Atlantic. The ships of Hapag, the Norddeutsche Lloyd, the White Star Line and the Cunard Line. Back then, in the days before Airbuses and Boeings. Now, only the Queen Mary 2 keeps this tradition alive. 

We file past a guard of honour comprised of stewards and officers to board the ship and find ourselves in the Grand Lobby. It is truly breathtaking the first time you see it: mighty marble columns, ceilings lavishly decorated with stucco, two gigantic staircases with red carpets, highly polished brass handrails. And glass elevators in which the passengers can ride up six floors in the gigantic atrium. It is a sight to make a grand hotel quake with envy.

The ship’s horn signals that we have cast off. I am joined on board by around 400 other Germans. For example, the Lausens. For Karin and her husband, Ernst, this is their first sea voyage.  The couple comes from Füsing an der Schlei, a tiny village in Schleswig-Holstein with a population of a scant 300 people. Ten times that many people ‘live’ on board here. The Lausens booked this cruise through their local newspaper. For €1,490 per person in an inside cabin, including flights and taxi transfer to their own front door. 

And now they’re on their way to New York. It just goes to show how soon a dream can become reality. The crew won’t be getting big tips from them, and they’ll be ironing their own shirts and trousers. “We didn’t bring a dinner jacket. A suit will have to do, won’t it?”  Ernst nods. A Schleswig-Holsteiner remains down to earth, even when he’s at sea. 

  • Copryright: Uwe Bahn

The ship also has a laundry. Right down, deep in the bowels of the ship, is where the sheets and duvet covers for the 1,310 cabins are washed and ironed. As well as the tablecloths and napkins from the restaurants. Every week, there are in excess of 10,000 pieces of laundry, not counting the passengers’ personal laundry.  The laundry is Chinatown: like on any ship, the people who work here are all Asians. The boss of the crew is Mister Chew, who sees daylight as seldom as his home country: “I have been working below deck on cruise ships for 37 years now. It’s my job, my life”, explains the man from Singapore. 

In the meantime I have let the first Atlantic breezes ruffle my hair and have explored the outside decks. The jogging trail on Deck 7, for example. Once round the ship, 620 metres, longer than a round of the sports field. Equally big is the Royal Court Theatre with over 1,000 seats, where host Enrico has gathered all the German guests. He wears a sign that says “Host”, meaning that he often gets called Horst by the Germans, something he’s become accustomed to. “Horst” informs us that this evening’s entertainment programme includes the new musical “Rock at the Opera”, that we can learn Latin-American dances in the ballroom and that a string quartet is playing in the Grand Lobby. The alternative is very simple: eating. 

  • Copyright: Cunard

In the Britannia Restaurant I meet up with the Lausens again. Together we eat our four-course meal. We, that is the passengers from the simple inside, outside and balcony cabins, a total of 1,100 passengers who dine in Art-déco ambience of the 1920s in a restaurant spread over two floors. On the menu the main course is roast duck à l’orange with hazelnut croquettes and grand Mariner sauce. The passengers in the suites dine in the Princess' or the Queen’s Grill – which sound slightly like snack bars, but certainly do not cater in snack food. Caviar and oysters are served here, but then a week in the Grand Duplex Suite does cost around 20,000 dollars. Next time, perhaps. 

While we nibble at our caramelised pears, the situation behind the scenes gradually relaxes. Kitchen chief Jean-Marie Zimmermann watches the waiters on the escalators carry the final desserts up to the guests. The meal is finished: four courses for more than 2,000 hungry passengers. “Every evening we make and serve 10,000 meals”, says the Alsatian proudly. There’s no doubt that this is a masterful achievement. 

Our route from Southampton to New York takes us further north than the course of the Titanic. Anyone who feels so inclined can read about the history of the disaster here on board. In the world’s largest floating library quite a few of the 8,000 books are about the Titanic. It is reassuring to know that the Queen Mary 2 is three times as big and that there aren’t any icebergs around us. All we can see is the endless expanse of the Atlantic Ocean, which for the entire week treats us very graciously. Wind force four is the most we have to endure. The Queen Mary 2 doesn’t even bat an eyelid. Which is more than can be said for the American passengers, who meet up at the daily art auction. In the Conservatory on Deck 7 passengers can buy oil paintings, watercolours and drawings in an auction. “Going, going, gone!” A framed Rembrandt print finds a new owner for the sum of 700 dollars. 

  • Copyright: Uwe Bahn

The last evening on board is a very special one for the Lausens. Karin and Ernst want to renew their marriage vows. 50 other couples gather for the ceremony. The ship’s cleric appears and calls them all up to the stage, couple by couple. “Karin and Ernst Lausen!“With tears in their eyes, they both whisper a “yes”. They receive a certificate which states that they and all the other couples have renewed their vows. And not just in any old place, but on board the Queen Mary 2, which is now heading towards the highlight of the trip: the arrival in New York.  It is just after four o’clock in the morning. More and more passengers stream upstairs onto the top deck, rubbing the sleep from their eyes. Nobody wants to miss this moment. The spectacular entrance begins. In front of us, the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge spans the Hudson River. Only a few metres separate the funnel of the Queen Mary 2 from the bridge. The queen of the oceans slides though with practically no space to spare, and then sails inexorably towards her destination, leaving the Statue of Liberty behind us on the port side. 

And then we see them sparkling: the lights of Manhattan. This is the moment we’ve been waiting for for ten days. We have reached our destination: New York – the city that never sleeps, and which is, nevertheless, only just awakening. A final breakfast and then we have to say goodbye to the Queen Mary 2. There’s a small consolation in the thought that there will be a chance to see her again. In two months and 13 days. The queen comes to Hamburg several times a year. Where else would she go? 

© KREUZFAHRT GUIDE / Bellevue and More Verlag;

www.kreuzfahrtguide.com

Author: Uwe Bahn

Queen Mary 2 - die Königin auf Kurs

Die Sehnsucht nach der goldenen Zeit der Kreuzfahrt scheint so groß wie nie: Die Queen Mary 2 hält die Tradition der Transatlantik-Liner wach. Wir fuhren mit – von Hamburg nach New York

Mehrmals im Jahr bricht in Hamburg die Monarchie aus. Dann regiert die britische Königin die Stadt. Nein, nicht Elizabeth, sondern Mary die Zweite, die Königin der Meere. Hunderttausende bereiten ihr an der Elbe einen Staatsempfang und Abschied. Die Queen Mary 2, das ist das neue Wahrzeichen der Hansestadt, der schwimmende Michel. Wenn sie spätabends unter Goldregen und bengalischen Feuern am Himmel Hamburg verlässt, dann möchte die ganze Stadt am liebsten hinterherschwimmen. Oder noch besser: mitfahren. Hamburg ist für die Queen Mary 2 der Hafen der Herzen. Der Heimathafen ist das britische Southampton.

  • Copyright: Cunard

Genau dort gehe ich an Bord. Und mit mir bis zu 2.600 andere Passagiere, die sich diesen Traum erfüllen: zehnTage mit der Queen Mary 2 über den Atlantischen Ozean nach New York. Auf der historischen Route, denn einst fuhren sie hier alle auf der Transatlantiktour, die großen Oceanliner. Die Schiffe der Hapag, des Norddeutschen Lloyd, der White Star Line oder der Cunard Line. Damals, als es noch keine Airbusse und keine Boeings gab. Nun ist es nur noch die Queen Mary 2, die diese Tradition wachhält.

Durch ein Spalier aus Stewards und Offizieren betreten wir das Schiff und stehen sofort in der Grand Lobby. Der Atem stockt das erste Mal: mächtige Marmorsäulen, stuckverzierte Decken, zwei riesige Freitreppen mit rotem Teppich, blank polierte Messinggeländer. Und gläserne Fahrstühle, in denen die Passagiere im gewaltigen Atrium sechs Decks hinauffahren können. Da wird so manches Grand Hotel blass.

Der Laut des Schiffhorns verrät, dass wir abgelegt haben. Außer mir sind 400 andere Deutsche an Bord. Das Ehepaar Lausen zum Beispiel. Für Karin und ihren Ehemann Ernst ist es die erste Seereise. Die beiden kommen aus Füsing an der Schlei. In dem kleinen Dorf in Schleswig-Holstein wohnen gerade mal 300 Leute, hier an Bord ist mehr als das Zehnfache an „Einwohnern“. Gebucht haben die Lausens die Reise über ihre Heimatzeitung. Für 1.490 Euro pro Person in der Innenkabine, inklusive Flug und Taxitransfer bis vor die Haustür.

Und nun sind sie auf dem Weg nach New York. So schnell werden Träume wahr. Große Trinkgelder kann die Crew von ihnen nicht erwarten. Und die Hemden und Hosen werden auch selbst gebügelt. „Einen Smoking haben wir nicht mitgenommen, der Anzug muss reichen. Nicht wahr?“ Ernst nickt. Holsteiner bleiben auch auf See bodenständig.

  • Copryright: Uwe Bahn

Eine Wäscherei gibt es auch. Ganz unten im Bauch des Schiffs werden alle Laken und Bettbezüge der 1.310 Kabinen gewaschen und gebügelt. Dazu die Tischdecken und Servietten aus den Restaurants. So fallen jede Woche weit über 10.000 Wäschestücke an, die Privatwäsche der Passagiere nicht mitgezählt. Die Wäscherei, das ist Chinatown. Wie auf jedem Schiff arbeiten hier nur Asiaten. Chef der Crew ist Mister Chew. Das Tageslicht sieht er genauso selten wie seine Heimat: „Ich arbeite jetzt schon seit 37 Jahren unter Deck auf Kreuzfahrtschiffen. Das ist mein Beruf, mein Leben“, erzählt der Mann aus Singapur.

Inzwischen schnuppere ich die ersten Atlantikbrisen und erkunde die Außendecks. Den Jogging-Parcours auf Deck 7 zum Beispiel. Einmal um das Schiff herum, das sind 620 Meter, länger als eine Sportplatzrunde. Riesig ist auch das Royal Court Theatre mit über 1.000 Plätzen. Dort hat Betreuer Enrico alle deutschen Gäste versammelt. Auf seinem Schild steht „Host“, was so viel heißt wie „Gastgeber“. Dass ihn manche Gäste „Horst“ nennen, daran hat er sich gewöhnt. Von „Horst“ erfahren wir, dass heute Abend unter anderem das neue Musical „Rock at the Opera“ aufgeführt wird, dass wir im Ballsaal Queen’s Room lateinamerikanische Tänze lernen können und dass in der Grand Lobby ein Streichquartett spielt. Die Alternative zu all dem heißt: essen.

  • Copyright: Cunard

Im Britannia-Restaurant treffe ich die Lausens wieder. Gemeinsam nehmen wir unser Vier-Gänge-Menu ein. Wir, das sind die Passagiere aus den einfachen Innen- und Außen- und Balkonkabinen. Immerhin 1.100 Gäste, die auf zwei Ebenen im Art-déco-Ambiente der zwanziger Jahre speisen. Auf der Karte steht als Hauptgang geröstete Ente à l’orange mit Haselnusskroketten und Grand-Marnier-Sauce. Die Bewohner der Suiten speisen im Princess' oder Queen’s Grill – was ein wenig nach Imbiss klingt, aber  nicht danach schmeckt. Man tafelt dort bei Kaviar und Austern, zahlt aber auch für eine Woche in der Grand Duplex Suite ca. 20.000 Dollar. Nächstes Mal.

Während wir die karamellisierten Birnen naschen, entspannt sich die Lage hinter den Kulissen. Küchenchef Jean-Marie Zimmermann beobachtet, wie die Kellner mit den letzten Desserts die Rolltreppen hinauf zu den Gästen fahren. Das Menu ist vollbracht: vier Gänge für über 2.000 hungrige Passagiere. „Jeden Abend werden hier 10.000 Essen von uns zubereitet und serviert“, erzählt der Elsässer stolz. In der Tat eine logistische Meisterleistung.

Unsere Route von Southampton nach New York verläuft nördlicher als der Titanic-Kurs. Wer will, der kann die Geschichte jenes Untergangs auch hier an Bord nachlesen. In der größten schwimmenden Bibliothek befindet sich unter den 8.000 Büchern reichlich Titanic-Literatur. Beruhigend: Die Queen Mary 2 ist dreimal so groß, und Eisberge gibt es hier auch keine. Nur die endlose Weite des Atlantischen Ozeans, der sich die ganze Woche über gnädig zeigt. Windstärke vier ist das höchste der Gefühle. Die Queen Mary 2 verzieht keine Miene. Dafür die amerikanischen Gäste. Sie treffen sich bei der täglichen Kunstauktion. Im Wintergarten auf Deck 7 kommen Ölgemälde, Aquarelle und Zeichnungen unter den Hammer. „Zum Ersten, zum Zweiten, zum Dritten!“ Ein gerahmter Rembrandt-Druck wechselt für 700 Dollar den Besitzer.

  • Copyright: Uwe Bahn

Der letzte Abend an Bord ist für das Ehepaar Lausen ein ganz besonderer. Karin und Ernst wollen noch einmal heiraten. Zur Trauzeremonie versammeln sich 50 weitere Paare. Und dann erscheint der Bordprediger und ruft sie alle nacheinander auf. „Karin and Ernst Lausen!“ Unter Tränen hauchen beide ein „Yes“. Dazu wird eine Urkunde gereicht, die besiegelt, dass die Lausens und alle anderen ihr Eheversprechen erneuert haben. Nicht irgendwo, sondern auf der Queen Mary 2. Und die steuert dem Höhepunkt der Reise entgegen: der Ankunft in New York. Es ist kurz nach vier Uhr morgens. Immer mehr Passagiere strömen auf das Oberdeck, reiben sich die Krümel Schlaf aus den Augen. Keiner will diesen Augenblick verpassen. Dann beginnt die spektakuläre Einfahrt. Vor uns überspannt die Verrazano-Narrows Bridge den Hudson River. Nur wenige Meter trennen den Schornstein der Queen Mary 2 von der Brücke. Ganz knapp schiebt sich die Königin der Meere hindurch, fährt unaufhaltsam dem Ziel entgegen, lässt backbord die Freiheitsstatue liegen.

Und dann funkeln sie vor uns: die Lichter von Manhattan. Der Moment, auf den alle zehn Tage lang gewartet haben. Wir sind am Ziel: New York – die Stadt, die niemals schläft und doch gerade erst erwacht. Ein letztes Frühstück, dann nehmen wir Abschied von der Queen Mary 2. Der Trost: Es gibt ein Wiedersehen. In zwei Monaten und 13 Tagen. Die Königin kommt mehrmals im Jahr wieder nach Hamburg. Wohin sonst?

© KREUZFAHRT GUIDE / Bellevue and More Verlag;
www.kreuzfahrtguide.com
Text: Uwe Bahn